How to Change Your Name After Marriage in Connecticut
Changing My Name After Marriage in Connecticut
After a wedding in Connecticut, a partner may decide to change the last name or add a hyphenation to it. It does not change the identity of the person. However, the legal implications of marriage require that all prior documentation at the state and federal levels before the event must undergo necessary modification. Without this, the parties may not enjoy the full rights and privileges of the new marital status.
In Connecticut, there is an array of requirements for changing a name after marriage. Top on the list of requirements is legal and administrative proof of the formality of the marriage. Among these is the marriage certificate which usually reflects the new name. The concerned individual must apply to receive a copy of the marriage certificates at the local vital records office of the town where the marriage took place, all at Connecticut's State Vital Records Office.
Alongside facilitating name change requests, Connecticut marriage records can be used to validate marital claims and availing some of the benefits that accompany the individuals new marital status. Hence, interested and eligible persons may access these records from the office of the court clerk where the license was issued.
How to Change Your Name After Marriage in Connecticut
The following agencies in Connecticut are in direct involvement with record adjustments pertaining to a name change:
- The Social Security Administration: it is the first government agency to get a notification on the name change owing to a marriage.
- Internal Revenue Service: the tax records units of the state must receive updates of change in names or marital status
- The State Department of Connecticut: the agency handles passport processing activities
- Connecticut State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV): name changes must reflect in the driver’s license and other associated documentation
- Registrar of Voters: name changes because of marriage mostly reflects in the state’s voters’ registration database. It is necessary to vote under the new married name.
- Creditor notifications: after updating all federal state government agencies, concerned individuals must notify creditors to avoid problems in relation to finance. Key creditors include banks or employers.
Concerned persons may wish to wind through the entire process by themselves or hire the services of attorneys. There must be proper follow-up by the involved parties to monitor the accuracy of the record change processes.
How to Update Your Social Security Card in Connecticut?
There are two steps required by the State Social Security Administration (SSA) to update a social security card. The first is to download and complete the SS-5 application. Applicants require certain supporting documents for the application, such as proof of identity and a copy of the marriage certificate.
Send the completed application by mail or in-person to the local social security office. After submission, give an allowance of 10 to 14 days to receive a replacement. Connecticut citizens have the responsibility of following up on their applications to see that the updates are accurate. A phone call to the social security office is usually sufficient.
How to Get a New Driver’s License in Connecticut?
A learner’s permit is the first requirement for a first-time applicant to get a new driver’s license. Only persons that are 16 years old and older can apply for this. Between the ages of 18 years and above, there are adult learner permits suited for them. Having passed the road test, they can request a new driver’s license. It is only DMV offices that offer driving tests for persons holding a learner’s permit.
The starting point of the applicant determines the processing route for a new license. Fresh applicants will process differently from renewal cases. Go to the website to New residents have at least 30 days to transfer existing out-of-state licenses. The list of requirements includes:
- A completed application for a Non-Commercial Driver’s License (Form R-229)
- Acceptable form of Identification: only valid, non-expired original or certified copies of ID are acceptable
- Application fee of $40. Acceptable forms of payment include cash, money orders, personal or bank checks, money cards (MasterCard or Visa). Make all checks payable to DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). Applicants must do so at the DMV Hub Offices or AAA locations. The latter may charge up to $8 for services.
- A licensing fee of $84
Renewal applicants can self-update using the Renew tab on the agency website. Follow the instructions. If preferred, use the mail or in-person option. Mail options are reserved for persons who cannot get to the office in person or access the internet, such as the ill, incarcerated, or out of state. Military residents have the privilege of a mail renewal process. In-Person processing is compulsory for first-time applicants and those who have exceeded the time limit for passport renewals (over 180 days after expiration).
The state has provisions for peculiar cases of request:
- An applicant with an out-of-state license of over two years must get a learner’s permit and enroll in an 8-hour safe driving practice course.
- Applicants with missing out-of-state licenses must get a certified copy of the relevant driving history or abstract within 60 days. The previous licensing state gets notification of issuance from the state. Thus, the previous state license gets canceled.
- A full-time student status in Connecticut: concerned individuals with an out-of-state permanent residency do not have to get a license as long as the student status is in effect. Upon termination of studentship, the applicant has 30 days to get a Connecticut license.
- Military personnel or their dependents may not need to get a Connecticut license.
- Applicants with out-of-state licenses from American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and Puerto Rico have special requirements for transferring licenses into Delaware. Visit the DMV page for details about this.
- Out-of-country licenses from Canada, Germany, or France are transferable using the same procedures for an out-of-state license.
How to Update Your Insurance Information in Connecticut?
Updating insurance information in Connecticut means that the involved party holds a prior insurance program, whether active or otherwise. Insurance in Connecticut basically covers life, health, or property. The State Department of Insurance has the charge of securing and maintaining insurance programs for subscribers. All updates must take place at the agency. Insurance programs with non-government agencies may require the subscriber to contact the representing officer for information per updates. All changes, irrespective of the agency, require the submission of a copy of proof.
Under the state of Connecticut, there are five basic types of insurance:
Auto Insurance: Auto insurance policy in the state recognizes two types of insurance- liability insurance and property damage. Bodily injury protects the involved party against the claims of others who sustained an injury in an accident for which the involved party is at fault. With property damage liability, the party at fault gets protected from payment for damages caused to the properties of others. Inclusive of this list are damages to vehicles or other property like fences or equipment.
Property Damage Policy categorizes property insurance into collision or comprehensive coverage. In collision coverage, the insurance company covers physical damage sustained by the car because of an auto collision with an object. Comprehensive coverage pays for damage sustained by vehicles under any circumstance. Under the state laws (C.S.G. 14-112), drivers are to provide proof of insurance in the following proportions: $25,000 per person per accident for bodily injury liability and $25,000 per accident for property damage liability.
Flood Insurance: Flood insurance is a policy available for homeowners, renters, and businesses not covered under a basic homeowner’s insurance policy. One of the key elements for flood insurance in Connecticut is to get a flood risk analysis from the state department of insurance. For homeowners, the policy covers up to $250,000 of damage to your home structure. It does not cover home items such as a washer or freezer. Businesses have insurance cover of up to $500,000 on a non-residential building. Structures on rent may get assessed a value upon discussion with insurance agents about flooding risks.
Health Insurance: As the name implies, it's a home insurance policy that protects the involved party from liability in the event of a health crisis. There are different levels in both insurance plans approved by the state department agency that residents can choose from:
- Individual health plans which include dental and eye vision care
- Small group health insurance plans
- State healthcare programs [Husky health plan or Medicaid]
- Medicare supplement plans
- Access Health CT
Home Insurance: Available plans under the home insurance policy include damage to a house, personal property, additional living expenses, comprehensive personal liability, etc.
Where Do I Go to Change My Last Name in Connecticut?
Aside from name changes arising from marriage, the process of a court-ordered last name change in Connecticut is under the jurisdiction of the probate courts. To carry out a name change, follow these steps:
- Complete the petition for a change of name form and an affidavit of change of name
- Submit a certified copy of the birth certificate, two different but valid forms of identification, and social security number
- Pay the required legal fees of $225
- Upon submission, the court holds a hearing to decide if to grant the petition. If granted, the court issues an order permitting the name change.
How to Update Information with Connecticut Mortgage and Utility Companies?
According to the state’s laws, anyone seeking to update a change of name information on a property or mortgage must file the relevant document (marriage certificate or court order change of name) with the town clerk. The clerk records and indexes the document with the land records of the city.
There are many utility companies across the state. Interested parties must contact state-owned utility companies through the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection. Persons using services by private companies may be required to get in touch with them individually based on their terms and conditions of service.
What Documents Do I Need to Change My Name after Marriage?
All parties seeking to change their names after marriage in Connecticut must have the following requirements:
- A filled out ‘Change of Name’ request form (E-78)
- Current driver’s license or non-driver ID card
- Certified documentation that bears the change of name. Among them are marriage license/civil union certificate, divorce decree, or estate administration documents. For each of these certified documentation, photocopies are not acceptable.
How to Get Certified Copies of Your Marriage License in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, after a marriage has taken place, the filed marriage license is processed to a marriage certificate. To get a certified copy, submit a request to the Vital Records Office of the town where the marriage took place or at the State Vital Records Office. Certified copies are accessible to everyone upon request and are of age (18 years). Copies that bear security numbers are available only to the persons listed in the record. Any third-party requester in need of them must present a copy of a valid ID and proof of consent from any of the parties listed in the record.
How to Get a New Passport in Connecticut?
Passports are essential travel documents of residents within and outside the United States, including the State of Connecticut. The US Department of State issues US passports. The Connecticut Passport Agency undertakes all passport processing for interested individuals within the state of Connecticut. Visit the agency office during business hours at:
850 Canal Street,
Stamford, CT 06902
There are different categories of passports, and their fees vary according to type as well as how quickly the individual requires it. Routine passport processing costs $60 with a delivery period of 10 to 12 weeks. Expedited processing costs $120 with a delivery period of 4 to 6 weeks. Interested parties must know that basic requirements for processing and getting a passport in Connecticut are generic across the states of the Federation, being a federal transaction. Requirements include:
- Download and complete the application form.
- Include a copy of the legal evidence of change of name
- Include a colored passport photo. Be sure to meet the standard guidelines
- Send the documents in an envelope to the address above. Include a self-addressed envelope for the return delivery.
In the meantime, applicants can use their state identification cards for interstate travels.
How to Change your Name on Bank Accounts in Connecticut?
Bank information comprises the personal identifying data of the account holder. Banking materials such as transaction cards (credit, debit) and checkbooks bear the account holder's name. Concerned individuals should contact the bank either in person or in writing. Be sure to submit a request for a change of name to the banking authority. Attach a certified copy of the marriage certificate to the application. Banking rules may vary from one institution to another. However, the principle is the same—all details get updated upon legal proof of a change of name. Cards, checkbooks, and all other materials bearing the former name of the user must be returned to get a replacement. Notifications to change of name will also be communicated to the applicant as soon as it is complete.
How Long Does it Take to Change Your Name in Connecticut After Marriage?
It depends on the various institutions involved in the name change. The name change reflects on the marriage certificate immediately after solemnization. The certificate becomes the instrument for initiating updates with other agencies. The Connecticut Social Security Administration is the first point of call for name change processing. According to the agency policy, the time limit for processing is 48 hours. If there will be delays, the agency must communicate the notice to the applicant.
How Long Does it Take to Change Your Name in Connecticut?
Name change processes in Connecticut are government transactions. By law, the government has an obligation to respond promptly to requests for change of name. The importance of promptness in processing is pertinent to avoid the potential problems that may arise when identity is not clear. It takes 48 hours to effect a change of name request, provided the applicant has submitted all required documents, which may range from a marriage license, divorce decree, civil union certificate, and estate ownership documents.