Connecticut Sex Offender Records
What is a Sex Offender?
A sex offender is a person guilty of committing a sex offense. Connecticut has different types of acts classed as sex violations, and persons culpable may be tried in court. Some examples of sex crimes in Connecticut are rape, sexual harassment, pornography distribution or production, sexual molestation, and improper relationships. Due to the gravity of sex offenses, courts consider some variables for sentencing and issuing penalties to sex offenders both state-wide and nationwide. More often than not, punishments for sex violations include compulsory prison terms and also mandatory registrations as sex offenders in the state.
Who is Considered a Sex Offender in Connecticut?
A sex offender in Connecticut is someone who violates Connecticut Penal Code that relates to sex offenses. Generally, the common sex crimes are grouped into the following:
- Offenses against adults – sexual assault, rape, and spousal rape
- Offenses against relatives – incest
- Offenses against minors – exploitation, pornography, abduction, molestation
- Offenses against nature – inappropriate exposure, bestiality
- Offenses against sex for transaction – prostitution
Connecticut, among many other states, has an extensive list of actions that are regarded as sex crimes. Some of the violations are typical, while the others are included to tackle specific sex violations.
What are the Different Types of Sex Offenses in Connecticut?
Connecticut classifies sex offenses into four degrees which address the severity of each sex crime in the state. This classification includes;
Sexual Assault in the First Degree (Sex 1)
Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-70 specifies the terms governing sexual assault in the first degree. A party is guilty of a sexual assault in the first degree or Sex 1;
- When the individual coerces another person into taking part in sexual intercourse by means of physical coercion or threat of coercion against the victim or a third party; therefore, intimating the victim not to fight back.
- When the person has sexual relations with another individual who has not attained the age of 13, and the perpetrator is more than two years older than the victim.
- When the entity commits sexual assault in the second degree with the aid or in the presence of two or more people
- When an individual has a sexual act with another person, who is mentally undermined or cannot consent to the act at that time
Depending on the crime facts, sexual assault in the first degree is a Class A or Class B felony. An accused is charged with a Class A felony if the party stands trial for the first definition and the victim has not attained the age of 16 years or if prosecuted under the second definition. If none of these applies, the court charges the alleged offender for a Class B felony.
Class A felony carries a minimum prison term of ten years and a maximum of 25 years imprisonment, and a fine up to $20,000 if the victim is not up to ten years old. At the same time, the minimum jail time is five years if the injured party is not up to 17 years yet but is older than ten years. For a Class B felony, the guilty party faces a minimum incarceration period of at least ten years, and at most, 20 years, and a fine capped at $15,000. According to Connecticut General Statutes § 54-251, after the release of an individual convicted of Sex 1, the party must register as a sex offender for life.
Aggravated Sexual Assault in the First Degree
Following Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-70a, an entity commits an aggravated sexual assault in the first degree when in addition to Sex 1, performs any of the following acts;
- Makes use of, is armed with, or threatens to use a dangerous weapon during the sexual act.
- Exhibits an intention to permanently mutilate, or damage, sever, or incapacitate permanently any part of the victim’s body and does so.
- Commits the action with extreme lack of interest in human life and exposes the victim to the danger of death, consequently causing severe physical injury to the victim.
- Was abetted by at least two individuals present during the act
Regarding the proof of the crime, aggravated sexual assault in the first degree may either be a Class A or Class B felony. It is a Class A felony if the victim is less than 16 years. If this does not apply, the sex offender is guilty of a Class B felony. A Class A felony attracts ten years jail time, a maximum of 25 years, and a fine. Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-70(a)(1), if the injured party is younger than 16 years at the time of the crime, the court must not reduce or suspend at least 20 years of the incarceration period. In addition, the offender may have to pay a $20,000 fine. If the court convicts the perpetrator under Class B felony, the party is liable to a minimum prison time of one year and a maximum of 20 years and a fine capped at $15,000. Following the release of a sex offender convicted of an aggravated sexual assault in the first degree, such an individual must register as a sex violator for life (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-251, 54-252)
Aggravated Sexual Assault of a Minor
Per Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-70c, a person is liable to face charges for an aggravated sex assault of a minor if the party engages in sexual activity with a minor not up to 13 years, has a past violent sexual assault conviction, and does at least one of the following;
- Abducts or unlawfully detains the victim
- Stalks the victim
- Uses aggression while committing the crime
- Brings about serious physical harm or mutilation to the victim
In Connecticut, aggravated sexual assault of a minor is a Class A felony. A first-time offender faces 25 years confinement in prison, while a second-time violator is liable to a minimum prison term of 50 years. Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-41, the fine for this crime is $25,000. Furthermore, following the freedom of the sex deviant, the person must register as a sex criminal for life.
Sexual Assault in the Second Degree (Sex 2)
Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-71 states that a party commits a sexual assault in the second degree or “Sex 2” if the individual performs at least one of the offenses below;
- Engages an individual between the ages of 13 and 16 years in sexual relations, and the sex violator is at least three years older than the victim.
- Have sexual relations with an individual with mental incapacity or ailment and where the victim cannot consent to such sexual activity.
- Initiate a sexual activity with a physically vulnerable person.
- Engages a party who is not up to 18 years in sexual intercourse, where the perpetrator is a guardian to the victim or is responsible for the victim’s welfare.
- Involves a minor under their supervision in a sexual relationship where the victim is under lawful detention or detention in an institution or hospital.
- The perpetrator is a psychotherapist and has sexual contact with a patient while offering professional services.
- Have sexual intercourse with a victim as a health care official under the pretense that the act is for a valid medical purpose.
- Engages in sexual relations with an enrolled student as a school worker, instructor, or coach
In Connecticut, sexual assault in the second degree is a Class C felony. If the victim is not up to 16 years, the court charges the offender for a Class B felony. Sexual assault in the second degree comes with a mandatory minimum prison term of nine months and a possible fine of $15,000 for a Class B felony conviction. If the sentence is for a Class C felony, the fine is $10,000 (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-35a; Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-41). Also, following the release of an individual convicted of Sex 2, such individual must register as a sex offender for ten years as a first offender or a lifetime for a repeat offender.
Sexual Assault in the Third Degree
Per Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-72a, sexual assault in the third degree or “Sex 3” occurs when;
- An individual forces another party through coercion to give in to a sexual act or expresses threats to use force on the victim or a third party in such a manner that causes the victim to be afraid of physical harm to them or a third party.
- A person exposes another individual who is mentally incapacitated and unable to provide consent to sexual activities.
- A party engages another individual in sexual relations where the perpetrator is aware of the family relationship with the victim.
In Connecticut, sexual assault in the third degree is a Class D felony. However, if the victim has not attained 16 years, then it is a Class C felony. Therefore, sex offenders guilty of Class C felony face jail time not less than one year and not more than ten years, and fines of $10,000. Also, if the sex maniac is prosecuted for a Class D felony, the perpetrator is liable to a prison time of not more than five years and a $5,000 fine (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-35a, Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-41). In addition, upon release from jail, the violator must register as a sex offender for ten years for a first-time offense while a repeat offender registers for life.
Sexual Assault in the Third Degree With a Firearm (Sex 3)
Under Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-72b, an individual is culpable of sexual assault in the third degree with a firearm if, in addition to committing sexual assault in the third degree, uses or threatens to use any type of firearm including, a revolver, pistol, rifle, machine gun, or shotgun while performing the offense.
In Connecticut, sexual assault in the third degree with a firearm a Class C felony. If the victim is less than 16 years, the court classifies it a Class B felony. The penalties include two-year jail time, a total imprisonment period, and special parole capped at ten years. After the convict’s release, the sex violator must register with the state for ten years if the party is a first-time offender. Nevertheless, repeat offenders register for a lifetime.
Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree
Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-73a states that a party is guilty of sexual assault in the fourth degree when the individual;
- Imposes physical contact with another person who:
- Has not attained 13, and the perpetrator is at least two years older than the victim.
- Is at least 13 years old but not up to 15 years old, and the perpetrator is at least three years older than the victim.
- Is physically vulnerable
- Is not up to 18, and the offender is a guardian to the victim or responsible for the victim’s welfare.
- Is under the sex deviant’s supervision where the victim is under lawful detention or detention in an institution or hospital.
- Exposes another individual to sexual contact without the consent of the individual
- Has sexual contact with an animal or a cadaver
- The perpetrator is a psychotherapist and either;
- Engages a current patient in a sexual act during a therapy session.
- Have sexual contact with a past patient who is emotionally dependent on them.
- Engages a present or past patient in sexual activities through therapeutic deception.
- Has sexual contact under the pretense that the act is for a medical reason.
- Engages in a sexual act with an enrolled student of that school or of the local or regional board of education for which the perpetrator works for.
- Involves a player or a party under their instruction or coaching in sexual intercourse, in which the victim is not up to 18 years old or is enrolled at the high school the perpetrator works.
- Has sexual relations with a victim, where the perpetrator is at least 20 years old and occupies a position of power over the victim who is not up to 18 years.
- Has sexual contact with a victim, where the perpetrator is serving as a supervisor or disciplinary authority to the victim who is receiving services from or has been placed with the Commissioner of Developmental Services.
Sexual assault in the fourth degree is a Class A misdemeanor and may be a Class D felony if the victim is younger than 16 years old. Sex deviants charged with Class D felony stays in jail for up to five years and pay a fine of $5,000 (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-35a, Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-41). If charged as a Class A misdemeanor, the sex offender faces one year in jail and pays a fine of $2,000 (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-36, Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-42).
What Types of Sex Offenders Exist in Connecticut?
The Adam Walsh Act enacted by the US Congress specifies the conditions for the categorization of sex offenders and mandates all states in the US to align the state registration laws to federal recommendations. The allocated level matches the particular offense for which an individual is convicted;
This is the lowest degree of sex crimes which are non-violent and usually do not involve minors. Individuals convicted of Tier 1 sex crimes must register as sex offenders for a minimum period of 15 years and present themselves yearly for verification. Under federal regulations, Tier 1 sex offenses include;
- Public indecency
- Possession of child pornography
- Unconsented sexual contact
Tier II classification entails non-violent sex crimes involving minors. Persons sentenced for violating Tier II sex crimes must register as sex offenders for a minimum period of 25 years and present themselves twice yearly for verification. Examples of Tier II sex-related crimes are;
- Repeat sex crimes committed by Level 1 sex offenders
- Transporting minors for sexual intents
- Smuggling minors for sexual intents
- Coercing a victim to take part in sexual activity
- Bribing a victim to take part in sexual activity
- Sexual relations with minors aged twelve to 15 years
- Sex crimes by an individual in a position of power over the victim, including guardians, coaches, teachers, babysitters, etc.
- Engaging minors in prostitution
- Making or distributing child porn
- Intentions or attempts to commit the above crimes
Tier III offenses consist of the gravest sex crimes. Parties prosecuted for violent or non-violent sex crimes with minors and non-minors belong to this category. Individuals convicted of Tier III sex offenses must register as lifetime sex offenders and present themselves four times yearly for verifications. Instances of Tier III sex crimes include;
- Repeat offenses committed by Tier II sex offenders.
- Sexual assault.
- Sexual relations through coercion or duress
- Sexual relations with a vulnerable or unconscious victim
- Sexual relations with parties younger than twelve years
- Sexual relations with victims who are unable to provide consent due to incapacity or mental deficiency
- Sexual relations with victims who are unable to decline physically
- Intentions or attempts to commit the above crimes
How to Find a Sex Offender Near Me in Connecticut
Connecticut residents may find sex offenders close by via the Connecticut Sex Offender Registry, an online platform to search through lists and photographs of sex offenders. The Connecticut Sex Offender Registry has the most current information on sex maniacs and is designed for families to keep minors and those they care for safe from persons with sexual behavioral problems. Interested persons may conduct searches on the registry by name, proximity to a particular location, or region where the offender lives. The option of email alerts is also available.
Furthermore, interested individuals may look for sex offenders via the National Sex Offender Public Website (NSOPW). NSOPW is the United States Department of Justice’s sex offender registry, which provides access to public sex offender registries for all fifty states, Washington DC, and five US territories. On the NSOPW website, a party may search out to target a particular area or the entire database. Also, users may locate a sex maniac by name, zip code, and in some cases, address, county, or city.
Connecticut Sex Offender Registry
Connecticut Sex Offender Registry is a databank of information on convicted sex offenders. The establishment of the registry is in line with Connecticut General Statute § 54-250 through to § 54-254, which requires persons convicted of sex crimes to enroll in the registry, and failure to do so is deemed a sex offense as well. However, the registration only applies to persons convicted of a sex offense and not alleged offenders. Upon registration, the sex deviant must comply with the attached restrictions. Failure to comply with these requirements is a sex offense in Connecticut. To obtain information on the registry, users must;
- Accept the terms and conditions.
- Then click on the tab that says “Click Here to Search for Offenders in Your Area.”
- Enter address, city, and Zip to search for offenders by area.
- Type in the last name and first name to conduct the sex criminal search by name.
- Fill in the city name to search by city or email address/internet name for internet search or the phone number to locate the offender through phone contact.
Upon search, requesters gain details of sex maniacs such as;
- Physical description
- Current address
- Date of conviction
- Description of offense
According to C.G.S. Sec. 54-258a, it is a criminal offense in Connecticut to use information from the registry to harass, injure or commit a criminal action against the sex offenders included in the registry.
Sex convicts must register within three days of release from prison. Connecticut’s legal framework determines who must register as a sex offender and how long they have to remain in the registry. The court may exclude some parties from registering as sex offenders depending on exceptional circumstances. For example, an individual under 18, when convicted of Sexual Assault in the Second Degree, may not register.
Interested members of the public may also obtain public record information from third-party websites. These privately owned sites typically host data culled from public databases and repositories. However, the information available on third-party sites may vary since they are independent of government sources. In order to use a third-party site, record seekers may be required to provide all or some of the following information:
- The full name on the record of choice
- The last known or current address of the named individual
- The address of the requestor
What Happens When You Register as a Sex Offender in Connecticut?
One of the possible consequences of registering as a sex offender involves constantly updating the state on specific changes in personal information like current address, name, photograph, and public access to information about the committed offense.
In addition, registered sex violators must not be in proximity with anyone less than 18 years old or with the victim of the crime. Also, if the sex crime involves a minor, a court order might restrict the offender from working with facilities that care for minors or be in contact with any other persons less than 18 years.
What is the Connecticut Sex Offender Registry?
The Sex offender Registry of Connecticut is maintained by the Connecticut State Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP). The registry contains information about convicted sex offenders and sex offenders found not guilty due to mental disease or ailment. However, sex offenders released before October 1, 1988, are not required to register with the DESPP.
Who Runs the Connecticut Sex Offenders Registry
The DESPP maintains sex offender registration records for 10 years after the offender’s release. Lifetime registration may be required if the sex offender was convicted of a second sex crime, a sexually violent offense, or had sexual intercourse with a child under 13 when the offender was at least two years older than the victim. Sex offenders must submit their names, criminal record histories, home addresses, photographs, and physical attributes, such as tattoos, scars, complexion, eye color, etc.
In Connecticut, convicted juveniles are not required to register. However, this does not apply if the offender was at least 16 years old or the person was at least 14 and was tried and convicted as an adult. Sex offenders may also be exempt from registration if a court determines that registration does not significantly affect public safety, or if
- The offender was convicted of sexual intercourse with a victim aged 13 to 15 (second-degree sexual assault)
- The offender was younger than 19 when the crime was committed.
The Connecticut sex offender registry contains records of registrants who committed sex crimes across the following categories:
- A crime against a minor or a nonviolent sex offense (Sec. 54-251)
- A violent sexual offense (Sec. 54-252)
- A sex offense committed in another jurisdiction (Sec. 54-253)
- A felony for a sexual purpose: (Sec. 54-254)
- Conspiracies, attempts, or plots to commit any of the sex crimes above
Who Can View the Connecticut Sex Offender Registry?
All interested members of the public can view the state’s registry. The sex offender registry is established for public awareness and to protect the community from sex offenders. It is important to note that the information retrieved from the registry must not be used to discriminate, abuse, or intimidate the sex offender. Persons who use obtained information in a harmful manner may be subject to criminal prosecution.
What are the Sex Offender Laws in Connecticut?
The Connecticut Megan’s Law governs sex offender registration in the state. The law is an adaptation of the federal Megan’s Law created after seven-year-old Megan Kanka was raped and killed by a convicted sex offender who lived next to the family’s New Jersey home.
The law obligates the agencies in charge of registering sex offenders to collate the following information on each offender:
- Full name, including all known nicknames
- Inmate registration number
- SPBI number
- Crime(s) committed
- Date and place where the conviction sentence is to be served
- Registration date
- DNA sample
- Internet identifier
- A complete physical description, including a photograph, scars, marks, tattoos, fingerprints, and palm prints
Megan’s Law stipulates that all sex offenders released on or after October 1, 1998, must register within three days of release. Upon a change of address, sex offenders must notify the DESPP within 5 business days. Furthermore, out-of-state offenders temporarily in the state must register within 3 days of entering the state.
The law also stipulates address verification for all sex offenders in the state by non-forwardable mail every 90 days.
Can a Sex Offender Live With Their Family in Connecticut?
Sex offenders in Connecticut may live with their families. The state does not place any residential restrictions on registrants in this regard.
How Long Do Sex Offenders Have to Register in Connecticut?
Connecticut sex offenders must register as follows:
- Sec. 54-251- Registration of a person who has committed a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor or a nonviolent sexual offense.
- Sex offenders in this category shall register three days after release and must remain on the registry for ten years. If the offender has one or more prior convictions, registration is for life.
- Violation of this requirement is a Class D felony.
- Sec. 54-252. Registration of a person who has committed a sexually violent offense.
- Here, sex offenders must register within three days of release and remain on the registry for life
- Violation of this requirement is a Class D felony.
- Sec. 54-253. Registration of a person who has committed a sexual offense in another jurisdiction.
- Any visiting non-resident convicted of a sex offense in another jurisdiction must register no later than 5 days upon entry into the state.
- Violation of this registration requirement is a Class D felony.
- Sec. 54-254 - Registration of a person who has committed a felony for a sexual purpose.
- Sex offenders in this category must register for ten years
- Violation of this registration requirement is a Class D felony.
Do Sex Offenders Have to Notify Neighbors in Connecticut?
The laws of some Connecticut municipalities and jurisdictions may require sex offenders to notify their neighbors. Interested persons may inquire about this requirement from the county sheriff's office closest to them or contact the State of Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) at:
Connecticut Sex Offender Registry Unit
1111 Country Club Road
Fax: (860) 772-1730
Middletown, CT 06457
TelePhone: (860) 685-8060
How Close Can a Sex Offender Live to a School in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, persons convicted of sex crimes must reside at least 1000 feet away from a school or child care center.
Is Public Urination a Sex Offense in Connecticut?
Public urination in Connecticut is not classified as a sex offense, provided that the offender did not do so with sexual intent.
What is Indecent Exposure in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, indecent exposure is when a person engages in sexual intercourse in a public place, exposes their body in a manner that is sexually arousing, or lewdly fondles another person’s body in public. In situations where it will likely be viewed by a person under 16 years, the act is described as public indecency in the first degree and regarded as a Class D felony.
Can You Expunge a Sex Offender Charge in Connecticut?
Offenders in Connecticut may have their offenses expunged by the Connecticut Board of Pardons and Paroles based on the amount of time that has passed since their last conviction. Persons convicted of misdemeanors may apply 3 years after their conviction, while felons are only eligible after 5 years. The decision to expunge a criminal offense is at the discretion of the Board, and offenders may apply by using the e-application link on the Board’s website. When an offender's charge has been expunged, their criminal records are completely erased. If the application is denied, the applicant must wait one year before applying again.
How to Look Up Sex Offenders in Connecticut
The Connecticut Sex Offender Registry is publicly available for information on all registered persons. Interested persons can search using the following methods:
- Non-compliance status
- Internet Names/Email
How to Report a Sex Offender in Connecticut
In Connecticut, pursuant to Sec. 54-261, The Court Support Services Division is responsible for sensitizing the members of the public on how best to report and handle sex offenders in the community. Members of the public may report sex offenders or suspected sex offenders to the Court Support Service Department located at:
The Court Support Service Division Central Office
455 Winding Brook Drive,
Glastonbury, CT 06033
TelePhone: (860) 368-3800
Fax: (860) 368-4351
The public can also contact the DESPP with reports on sex offenders or suspected sex offenders at any of the following locations:
Headquarters for the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection:
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
TelePhone: (860) 685-8000
Connecticut State Police Phone: (860) 685-8190
Emergency Management and Homeland Security Phone: (860) 685-8531
Statewide Emergency Telecommunications Phone: (860) 685-8080